## **MRS NEWS**

## Aizenberg, Kraft, Moody, and Ramesh to Chair 2005 MRS Spring Meeting









Joanna Aizenberg

Oliver Kraft

Neville R. Moody

Ramamoorthy Ramesh

Chairs for the 2005 Materials Research Society (MRS) Spring Meeting are Joanna Aizenberg (Bell Laboratories/Lucent Technologies), Oliver Kraft (Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe/University of Karlsruhe), Neville R. Moody (Sandia National Laboratories), and Ramamoorthy Ramesh (University of Maryland). The meeting will be held in San Francisco, Calif., March 28–April 1, 2005.

Joanna Aizenberg, a member of technical staff at Bell Laboratories/Lucent Technologies since 1998, has been working on methods for controlling artificial crystal formation using micropatterned organic surfaces and on the characterization of novel bio-optical systems. Her scientific interests include biomaterials, biomimetics, self-assembly, crystal engineering, nanofabrication, optics, and the control of crystal nucleation and growth. She received her PhD degree from the Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel, and did her postdoctoral work at Harvard University. Aizenberg's honors include Distinguished Lecturer at the University of Texas at Austin, 2003; Elected Chair 2006 for the Gordon Research Conference on Biomineralization, 2002; the New Investigator Award in Chemistry and Biology of Mineralized Tissues, 2001; the Arthur K. Doolittle Award from the American Chemical Society, 1999; the Weizmann Institute Award for Academic Excellence, 1997; the Young Investigator Award in Chemistry and Biology of Mineralized Tissues, 1995; and the Award of the Max Planck Society in the field of Biology and Materials Science, 1995. She has numerous publications.

Oliver Kraft is Professor for Reliability in Mechanical Engineering at the University of Karlsruhe and joint director of the Institute for Materials Research at the Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe. His research interests range from the mechanical behavior of advanced structural materials to the reliability of microelectronic and microelectromechanical systems devices, with a focus on deformation and degradation mechanisms in thin films and small structures. Kraft graduated from the University of Stuttgart in 1995 in materials science. For his thesis, he received the Otto Hahn Medal from the Max Planck Society and the Best Thesis Award from the Freunde der Universität Stuttgart. From 1996 to 1997, he was a postdoc in the group of W.D. Nix in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at Stanford University. From 1997 to 2002, he worked as a research scientist at the Max-Planck-Institut für Metallforschung in Stuttgart. He has authored or co-authored more than 70 publications and co-edited four books.

Neville R. Moody is a Distinguished Member of the Technical Staff at Sandia National Laboratories in Livermore, Calif. He received his PhD degree in materials science from the University of Minnesota in 1981. After joining Sandia National Laboratories, his research focused on the determination of hydrogen effects on deformation and fracture in titanium, stainless steels, and superalloys, employing experimental testing, modeling, and simulation techniques. For the past 15 years, his research has included the study of deformation and fracture on the submicrometer scale in thin films and small volumes. He is author or co-author of more than 125 publications, including invited reviews and a chapter in the encyclopedia on Comprehensive Structural Integrity. He coorganized three international conferences on hydrogen effects in materials; six MRS symposia on thin films, nanomechanical behavior, and nanostructuring of materials; and three regional materials and welding technology conferences. He serves on the board of review for Materials Transactions and is a fellow of ASM International.

Ramamoorthy Ramesh holds a joint appointment in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering and of Physics at the University of California, Berkeley. From 1995 to 2003, he held a professorship at the University of Maryland, College Park, where he also served as associate director of the Materials Research Science and Engineering Center. He received his PhD degree in materials science in 1987 from the University of California, Berkeley. As a staff scientist at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (1987-1988), Ramesh carried out pioneering research on high-temperature superconductors (HTSs) and was responsible for the identification of the 110  $\vec{K}$  superconducting phase in the bismuth cuprate system. He joined Bellcore in 1989 and initiated research in several key technology areas, including ferroelectric nonvolatile memories. In 1994, he initiated research into the area of colossal magnetoresistive oxide thin films and heterostructures. Ramesh's work in the areas of transmission electron microscopy and materials science of HTSs, growth mechanisms in oxide thin films, pulsed laser deposition of ferroelectric and magnetic oxide thin films, and information storage technologies is recognized worldwide. He has more than 250 publications, 15 patents issued and 11 pending, and his research is extensively cited (over 8000 citations, putting him among the top 500 cited researchers in physics). In 2001, Ramesh received the Humboldt Senior Scientist Prize from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation for his pioneering work on the fundamental nanoscale science of size scaling in ferroelectric thin films, the A. James Clark College of Engineering Faculty Outstanding Research Award, and fellowship in the American Physical Society.

For updated information on the 2005 MRS Spring Meeting, access Web site www.mrs.org/meetings/.

MRS BULLETIN/JUNE 2004 413