## **Editorial**

At the 1995 annual ANZIAM conference held at Busselton in Western Australia, the society made the first award of the ANZIAM medal to Professor Renfrey Potts. This medal is presented on the basis of research achievements or activities enhancing applied or industrial mathematics and contributions to ANZIAM. This is the most prestigious award that our society can grant. To date the medal has been awarded eight times, to the following researchers:

1995 Renfrey Potts	The University of Adelaide
1997 Ian Sloan	The University of New South Wales
1999 Ernest Tuck	The University of Adelaide
2001 Charles Pearce	The University of Adelaide
2004 Roger Grimshaw	Loughborough University
2006 Graeme Wake	Massey University
2008 James Hill	University of Wollongong
2010 Robert Anderssen	CSIRO

As recently appointed co-editors of the Journal we have asked each of the recipients of the medal to contribute an article to the Journal that may be a review or of a more reflective nature than is the norm. These articles will be subject to the usual refereeing process.

This issue sees the first in this series, a discussion of transcritical flows by Roger Grimshaw. We aim to release papers by the remaining medallists over the next couple of volumes.

Two of the ANZIAM medallists, Ren Potts and Ernie Tuck, have passed away. In Ernie's case, thanks to sterling work by his family and colleagues, we have identified some unpublished notes which should form the basis of a good review article. However, we have so far been unsuccessful in finding equivalent work for Ren. If any reader of the Journal knows of material that might be developed into an article, or knows of a problem that Ren started but was unable to see through to publication, please let us know.

We hope that readers will enjoy this series of papers by eminent applied mathematicians which demonstrate both the range and quality of their work.

Andrew Bassom, The University of Western Australia Graeme Hocking, Murdoch University Co-Chief Editors