ing Security Council resolution calling for immediate Argentinian withdrawal from the Falklands.

In this context the effort to justify the use of force by Argentina on the basis of an incomplete Jennings quote is simply grotesque. More importantly, it damages a Charter structure which, however fragile, may be the last hope of mankind. Professor Cárdenas is surely correct, however, that "[o]nesided approaches, full of bias, do not help to resolve a difficult problem."

TO THE EDITORS-IN-CHIEF:

April 11, 1983

Since publication of my article Recognition of Governments Should Not Be Abolished in the January issue, a number of scholars, Oliver J. Lissitzyn of Columbia University and Roger S. Clark of Rutgers University being the first, have brought to my attention a change of recognition policy announced by the British Government in mid-1980.

Though the announcement is not entirely clear, it appears to signal adoption of an Estrada Doctrine-like policy of indicating acknowledgment of a new regime's claim to rule by maintaining formal diplomatic relations without making any formal announcement of recognition. The policy and its possible implications for British courts are discussed in an article by Colin Warbrick in volume 30 of the *International and Comparative Law Quarterly* (July 1981), beginning at page 568.

While this information does not affect my argument in any way, it does suggest that the trend toward de-emphasizing recognition of governments is stronger than I indicated.

M. J. PETERSON Harvard University

THE FRANCIS DEÁK PRIZE

The Board of Editors of the American Journal of International Law announces with great pleasure that the Francis Deák Prize for 1983 has been awarded to Ted L. Stein for his Contempt, Crisis, and the Court: The World Court and the Hostage Rescue Attempt, which appeared in the July 1982 issue at page 499. As our readers are doubtless aware, the prize is given in honor of the late Francis Deák and recognizes an especially meritorious article in the Journal by one of its younger authors.

The Board of Editors congratulates Professor Stein and again expresses its appreciation to Mr. Philip Cohen, President of Oceana Publications, Inc., through whose generosity an award is made to each recipient of the prize.